Waste360 Announces 2019 40 Under 40 Awards Winners

TerraCycle tom szaky Tom-Blog Include USA
Waste360 is thrilled to announce the winners of its fourth annual 40 Under 40 awards program, which honors the next generation of leaders who are shaping the future of the waste and recycling industry. "The future is bright! The 2019 class of Waste360 40 Under 40 awards winners is filled with today's brightest young innovators, thinkers and doers in the waste and recycling industry,” says Waste360 Vice President Mark Hickey. “Their diverse body of work has changed processes, policies and moved our industry forward. Take a look for yourself, and we look forward to celebrating them at WasteExpo in Las Vegas, May 6-9."
The Waste360 40 Under 40 awards program recognizes inspiring and innovative professionals under the age of 40 whose work in waste, recycling and organics has made a significant contribution to the industry. The winners are involved in every part of the waste and recycling industry, including haulers, municipalities, composters, recycling professionals, policymakers and product suppliers. The 2019 40 Under 40 award winners:
  • Josh Bartlome, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, Southern Idaho Solid Waste
  • Kelly Bray, Waste Reduction and Recycling Specialist, ReCollect Systems
  • Meghan R. Butler, Director, Corporate Development, Recology Inc.
  • Chris Cochran, Executive Director, ReFED
  • Daniel M. Dodd, Chief Technology Officer, Sierra Energy
  • Melissa Filiaggi, Manager, Recycling, Maryland Environmental Service
  • Mark Grillo, Chief Operating Officer, Medical Waste Management, Inc.
  • Rob Hallenbeck, Manager Corporate Venturing, Technology Scouting, Waste Management
  • Caitlin Hitt, Senior Director of National Accounts, RiverRoad Waste Solutions, Inc./Rubicon Global
  • John F. Howard III, Crew Supervisor, Dekalb County Sanitation
  • Sheri Hummel, Area Safety Director, Waste Management, Northern California-Nevada
  • Aaron Johnson, Area Vice President, Eastern Canada, Waste Management
  • Kristin Kinder, Director of Research and Waste Stream Sustainability, Wastequip
  • Jason Knowles, Director, Vendor Relations, Enevo
  • Christopher Lockwood, Divisional Vice President, Waste Pro USA
  • Ricardo Lopez, Materials Recovery Facility Manager, GreenWaste Recovery
  • Naomi Lue, Zero Waste Supervisor, Castro Valley Sanitary District
  • Zach Martin, Vice President of Sales, North America, Big Truck Rental
  • Nathan Mayer, Director of Land Management Services, Solid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County
  • Doug McDonald, Eastern Region Controller, Waste Connections
  • Amanda Mejia, Government Affairs Manager, Athens Services
  • Jeff Meyers, Chief Operating Officer, The Recycling Partnership
  • Jennifer Wells Milner, State Recycling Coordinator, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
  • James R. Mitchener, Marketing Manager, Waste Industries
  • Daniel Moran, Senior Director Operations, Healthcare, Covanta Environmental Solutions
  • Madelyn Morgan, Planner III, City of Austin, Austin Resource Recovery
  • Jake Pack Jr., District Manager, WCA Waste Corporation
  • Tania Ragland, Recycling Representative, Specialist in Food Recovery and Organics Diversion Programs, Republic Services
  • Katie Raverty-Evans, Government Affairs Representative, Best Way Disposal
  • Henry Retamal, Operations President, Wastequip
  • Rebecca Rodriguez, Solid Waste Engineering Manager, Lee County Public Utilities
  • Andrew Rumpke, East Area President, Rumpke Waste & Recycling
  • Michelle A. Salas, President, Lady Green Miami Recycling Co.
  • Meredith Sorensen, Strategic Communications Advisor, Harvest Energy Holdings, LLC
  • Mike Stoeckigt, District Manager, State of Wisconsin, Advanced Disposal Services
  • Tom Szaky, President and Chief Executive Officer, TerraCycle
  • Travis Timmerman, National Accounts Manager, Mack Trucks, Inc.
  • Srividhya Viswanathan, Senior Project Manager and Vice President, SCS Engineers
  • Patrick Winters, Sales Manager, Winters Bros. Waste Systems
  • Catherine (Kate) Wolff, President, CJD E-Cycling
Additionally, Dr. Matanya Benasher Horowitz, chief executive officer of AMP Robotics Corporation, has won the first Waste360 Innovator Award, which was created to recognize innovators and forward thinkers who often use technology to better the industry. Horowitz has used technology to help haulers, landfill operators and materials recovery facility operators reach their diversion and recovery goals. A panel of expert judges from Waste360 evaluated the nominations and consulted with an external advisor to select the finalists and winners.
The winners will be honored during an awards ceremony at WasteExpo, North America's largest solid waste, recycling and organics industry event, May 6-9, in Las Vegas. View past classes of Waste360 40 Under 40 awards winners: